One day one of my friend asked me about testing models and I have not given satisfactory answer to him. But that does not mean that I was not aware about testing model, I was, but not that satisfactory points to convince him. So today I am going to write something about testing models. Basically I am going to describe both V and Butterfly models. So for newbie, Testing Model is a conceptual model that defines the steps which are using to test the any application. V model defines in V shape. Left line of V model depicts 4 things-

  • Requirement Analysis
  • System Design
  • Architecture Design
  • Module Design

while joining point of both line depicts Coding. In V model left line processes are coming from Up to Down while in right line processes are going Down to Up. Right line also depicts four things –

  • Unit Testing
  • Integration Testing
  • System Testing
  • Acceptance Testing.

Now we discuss about Butterfly model. Butterfly model is also a testing model that in butterfly shape. Left wing of butterfly depicts Test Analysis and right wing depicts Test design and finally body of the butterfly depicts execution of the test.

Here I am giving only my opinion about these model if you guys feels it is also not satisfactory content about testing model then I will wait for your words.

One thought on “V and Butterfly Models

Leave a Reply

